Today is a journey

Well, good morning everyone!!

I was sitting here drinking my favorite cup of java. The coffee pot had to be cleaned and that made the coffee taste allll that more fresh. The cream is fresh and cold and at first sip, the senses danced as that warm liquid flowed through my mouth. The tummy danced and now caffeine is waking up all the nerve endings that were resting.

I have awakened to snow this morning. I was hoping for sunshine and robins and crocus’ dancing their way out of the dirt. But instead, my car is covered in a blanket of white and my yard has disappeared under this new snow.  But, I know, this is only temporary. Most of our snow is gone and I know spring will jump back up and the warm sunshine will prevail.

Tonight, I will be hanging with friends of mine. Today is a very special day for me. I only get to celebrate once a year. And for the last 20 years I have not really celebrated. You see, for today, is my birthday. And no one that I was married to, put together any kind of gathering. I love my birthday. And we were always broke, or someone was gone, or in the hospital and I ALWAYS said, “maybe next year.” There was one year, we did have a party. The Ex did call people to come and I did all the cooking. Not once, did we have a party that surprised me. There was THAT very first birthday the Ex and I spent together. He did have a private party for me. He gave me a rolling pin. It was my first gift from him. A rolling pin. Don’t get me wrong….I cherish that gift. It is made of marble and all these years later, I never ONCE hit him with it. I made thousands of pies and tarts and cookies with that rolling pin. But, it was a rolling pin for our first gift. And pretty much the only gift he ever gave me on my birthday. I realize that THINGS should not be what the focus is for a birthday. But come on….17 years, I had to organize my own parties and I got a rolling pin.

When his rolled around, one week before christmas (every year), I would find a way to surprise him, EVERY YEAR! Surprise parties, movies, restaurant venues with friends, dancing. I always made his day special. And I always got the shaft. Well, NO MORE!!!

Last year, because of my accident, I was down. But, this year….I have Two parties planned. Tonight, I am ordering what ever I want from my favorite restaurant and I have invited all of my friends to come join me! I have a cake ready to go and YES, it will catch fire from the candles. I don’t care! I plan on having a fire extinguisher on hand. hahahahaha.

No stopping the smiles now!!!!

http://www.amazon.com/Terri-Louise/e/B007IA789Q/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1 This goes to my author page on Amazon.  AS a gift to YOU for my birthday, “Divorce, Girlfriends, Phone Calls, and why he makes me SICK!”, is FREE for the next three days!!! Go have a great birthday for me. I know I will!!!!

— Terri Louise

About Terri Louise

I am a Heavy Equipment Operator by day and a writer by night. My day job takes me all over Idaho doing road projects and camping in gorgeous areas and my writing career lets me sit in my PJ's and type into the night. I am a Cancer survivor. The worst being the Thyroid Cancer. Divorced and Authored the book series, "Diaries of a Damaged Soul". "Divorced, Girlfriends, Phone Calls, And Why He Makes Me Sick!" is available on Amazon as a Kindle book. "Coffee of Change", "Grader Gal's Simple Steps to Car Maintenance" and many more!!! Visit my author's page on Amazon.. http://www.amazon.com/Terri-Louise/e/B007IA789Q/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
This entry was posted in holidays, Thankful and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today is a journey

  1. Lisa says:

    And the second party isn’t your doing this year. Imagine that!!! See you tonight AND on Saturday!

Thank you!

