Mother’s day and Me………

Today, all over the country, mother’s will be getting breakfast in bed or a day to themselves or even flower’s and chocolate’s. But, somewhere in Idaho, is my EX father-in-law that will insist this be the day he celebrate his birthday. It’s not of course, but, he demands that this be the day he get to celebrate it. I can’t tell you the relief I have, not to have to endure that any longer. Some where along in that man’s mind, this day became his day, and took it from me and my sister-in-law.

I remember the first time he did this…..My sister in law seethed the entire afternoon. She served him, she laughed with him and made a cake for him. And all on the day she should have had the day off. The next year, the men went paint balling. I dropped them off at a warehouse and prayed to god to take care of my father in law like he never had before. I walked through Costco shopping for mother’s day. Getting party stuff ready for a birthday instead of sitting on my porch sipping iced tea and relaxing. I grumbled that whole day. My father in law got several paint blasts on the forehead. Bless you god!

The last one—-a car rally to my cousins restaurant. That one was alright. I got to relax on Mother’s day, and his car broke down.

Sooooo, in celebration of Mother’s day…..I am going to do absolutely nothing!!!!!!! The plan is to brunch at my cousin’s……barbecue this afternoon with steaks and watermelon followed by some virgin margaritas on the deck…..by myself. I got the kids this far. They are not in jail, one’s in college, the other a teenager. Neither are failing at life and both have a good sense of humor. And even though they won’t call…..some day, they will realize the importance of mom, and that will be the beginning of our next chapter of family. Have a great day all you mom’s!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/B004SD01EA/ref=sib_dp_kd#reader-link Written for the abused and not amused any longer.

 

–Terri Louise

About Terri Louise

I am a Heavy Equipment Operator by day and a writer by night. My day job takes me all over Idaho doing road projects and camping in gorgeous areas and my writing career lets me sit in my PJ's and type into the night. I am a Cancer survivor. The worst being the Thyroid Cancer. Divorced and Authored the book series, "Diaries of a Damaged Soul". "Divorced, Girlfriends, Phone Calls, And Why He Makes Me Sick!" is available on Amazon as a Kindle book. "Coffee of Change", "Grader Gal's Simple Steps to Car Maintenance" and many more!!! Visit my author's page on Amazon.. http://www.amazon.com/Terri-Louise/e/B007IA789Q/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
This entry was posted in Family, Thankful and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you!

