My granddaughter arrived….

This month brought a lot of challenges my way, and in more than one direction all at once. As the moments dwindled and the labor started, I was losing a childhood friend to car accident.  I still don’t have all the details for that, but I know, that my heart broke in hundreds of little pieces when I found out.

The week before, a beautiful soul passed as well. I was her baby sitter, her neighbor, her childhood friend. We grew apart as time passed, but as she reached adulthood, I found my way back to her, and the last few years we were friends again. I knew her twin boys, but I had never met her older son. Her death was tragic and frightening. She passed from an aneurysm. Something very few people live through. At thirty seven, her children and 200 of her closest friends, said goodbye to our little Katy.

And on the 16th, after two days of labor, I sent my son-in-law and my daughter to the hospital. Being her first baby, I didn’t let her panic and made her walk a lot. Her husband was up for the weekend and they went swimming and hiking and (against my better judgment) she jumped on the trampoline with the kids. Finally, on the 15th, she was having contractions that were five to ten minutes apart and she was ready.

The hospital is an hour away and enough was enough. They went down and I got things ready here. I made sure that my other two grandkids were taken care of and had a babysitter for however long it was going to take. Then, I made sure the hospital was going to keep her and off we went. My mom, me and my best friend, who so happens to be the mother of my son-in-law, followed a few hours later.

We had some waiting to do, and we had some not so pleasant labor pains to help her through. After I started to suffer, I made sure that the epidural was on its way. She was spiking up so high on the paper on the monitor, I swear it was an earthquake.

At 12:29 my dear sweat granddaughter came screaming into the world. I have nicknamed her Mak. As in Mack attack. And for her privacy, I won’t be saying the whole name. But just know, she’s a sweet young lady and I will protect her and love her like a grandma.

So…….. what a month. I can’t wait to see what else happens as August comes running in.

About Terri Louise

I am a Heavy Equipment Operator by day and a writer by night. My day job takes me all over Idaho doing road projects and camping in gorgeous areas and my writing career lets me sit in my PJ's and type into the night. I am a Cancer survivor. The worst being the Thyroid Cancer. Divorced and Authored the book series, "Diaries of a Damaged Soul". "Divorced, Girlfriends, Phone Calls, And Why He Makes Me Sick!" is available on Amazon as a Kindle book. "Coffee of Change", "Grader Gal's Simple Steps to Car Maintenance" and many more!!! Visit my author's page on Amazon.. http://www.amazon.com/Terri-Louise/e/B007IA789Q/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
This entry was posted in Family, Thankful and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you!

